The Music Week Playlist: June 24, 2019

Beyoncé

BEYONCÉ
Spirit (Walt Disney/Columbia)

Taken from The Lion King: Gift, the album Beyoncé curated and produced to accompany Disney’s new film, Spirit is a suitably dramatic affair. Bey’s calling it “sonic cinema” and we’re not arguing.

Contact Carl Fysh
carl.fysh@s-414.com

BON IVER
Faith (Jagjaguwar)

Bon Iver release fourth album I, I on August 30, and the drip feed of intro tracks continues with Faith, a billowing display of Justin Vernon’s talents.

Contact Nathan Beazer
nathan@dogdaypress.com

JC STEWART
Bones (Warner Records)

Warner’s new signing wants to make your hairs stand on end, and he’s using piano chords and an epic chorus swollen with emotion to do so.

Contact Kat Bawden
kat@dedikatedpr.com

CRAIG DAVID
When You Know What Love Is (Speakerbox/Insanity)

There’s nothing like an appearance on Love Island to boost streaming, and Craig David’s recent villa bow is working wonders for this summery rush.

Contact Laura Sinclair
laura.sinclair@dawbell.com

SEA GIRLS
Closer (Polydor)

The rising indie kids resurface with a maudlin floorfiller that’s already storming the festival circuit. They headline O2 Forum in October.

Contact Anthony Giannaccini
anthony@mbcpr.com

BILL RYDER-JONES
And Then There’s You (Domino)

Bill Ryder-Jones has made a piano-only version of last year’s Yawn LP, laying bare the tangled feelings piled up in its songs. This one’s a real gem.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com

BLANCO BROWN
The Git Up (BBR Music Group/BMG)

Had your fill of Old Town Road? Say hello to Atlanta’s Blanco Brown and his viral ‘trailer trap’ sound. This has more than 32 million Spotify plays so far.

Contact Grace McCracken
gracemccrackenpr@gmail.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...