Goldie to be honoured as Pioneer at AIM Awards 2018

Goldie to be honoured as Pioneer at AIM Awards 2018

The Association of Independent Music (AIM) has announced the recipients of its Innovator, Pioneer and Outstanding Contribution To Music Awards ahead of its 2018 awards ceremony.

Transgressive-signed electronic artist Sophie follows in the footsteps of Stormzy and Boy Better Know as winner of the Innovator Award (in association with Fuga). Sophie released debut album Oil Of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides earlier this year.

Drum ‘n’ bass pioneer and Metalheadz label boss Goldie receives the Pioneer Award, which celebrates independent label founders. Previous winners include Warp Records’ Steve Beckett and XL’s Richard Russell.

Everything But The Girl’s Tracey Thorn wins the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award (in association with Merlin). Thorn released 10 albums with Everything But The Girl and hit the Top 20 with solo album Record earlier this year.

NTS Radio founder Femi Adeyemi was previously announced as the winner of the Indie Champion award.

The AIM Awards takes place tomorrow (Tuesday, September 4) at The Brewery in London.

Idles, Phoebe Bridgers and Jorja Smith are among the shortlisted artists, while Trangressive, Dirty Hit and Dead Oceans are among the labels to have made the cut.

To see the shortlists for this year’s eighth edition of the AIM Awards, click here, and revisit the best moments of last year’s show here.

Look out for an interview with AIM CEO Paul Pacifico on very soon.

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...