U2 confirms Songs Of Experience release date

U2 confirms Songs Of Experience release date

U2 have confirmed the Q4 release of their new album Songs Of Experience. The 13-track record, a companion album to 2014’s Songs Of Innocence, drops on December 1 from Island Records.

The new single Get Out Of Your Own Way is out now. It follows the album’s lead single You’re The Best Thing About Me, which only dented the Top 100 in September. The band also premiered new material via Facebook.

U2’s 14th studio album is produced by Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder, with Steve Lillywhite, Andy Barlow and Jolyon Thomas. The album features a cover image by Anton Corbijn of band members’ teenage children Eli Hewson and Sian Evans.

The traditional campaign for Songs Of Experience - including deluxe CD and vinyl editions - follows the previous album’s innovative (and not universally popular) free release to iTunes customers. The subsequent digital and physical versions of Songs Of Innocence have sold 65,640 copies, according to Official Charts Company data.
Live Nation has announced U2’s North American dates for the Experience + Innocence Tour running from May 2.

The band played two nights at Twickenham Stadium in the summer as part of the 30th anniversary Joshua Tree Tour. The tour wrapped last month in Latin America and Live Nation reported overall sales from 50 global performances earned more than $316 million from 2.7m sold tickets, as reported by Billboard.

author twitter FOLLOW Andre Paine

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...