IMPALA Album Of The Year Award shortlist revealed

IMPALA Album Of The Year Award shortlist revealed

IMPALA had revealed the nominees for the seventh edition of its Album of the Year Awards. 


The shortlist, which comprises 25 albums from across 19 countries, aims to highlight the diversity and quality of independent labels from all over Europe. 

Artists from a variety of genres are featured, including the likes of Radiohead to Swiss krautpop band One Sentence. 


Supervisor, Swedish progressive metal pioneers Meshuggah, Dutch rapper Boef and Italian disco act Jolly Mare are also among the nominees.


Voting is currently under way, with the winner set to be announced at the end of February.


The nominated albums are listed in alphabetical order by artist/name of the album/record label:


Agnes Obel - Citizen of Glass (PIAS)

Bisse – Højlandet (Gateway Music)

Blood Orange - Freetown Sound (Domino Records)

Boef - Gewoon Boef (Zonamo Entertainment)

Claudio Capéo - Claudio Capéo (Jo and Co)

Danny Brown - Atrocity Exhibition (Warp)

Dubioza Kolektiv - Happy Machine (PIAS)

First Breath After Coma – Drifter (Omnichord Records)

Hangutazók - Indulj El (RNC Music / Egység Média)

Highasakite – Camp Echo (Propeller Recordings)

Jolly Mare – Mechanics (42 Records/Don't Panic)

Kase.O - El Círculo (BOA)

Klaus Johann Grobe - Spagat der Liebe (Cargo Records)

Lost Frequencies - Less Is More (Lost & Cie)

LUH - Spiritual Songs for Lovers to Sing (Mute Records)

Mark Ernestus' Ndagga Rhythm Force – Yermande (Ndagga)

Meshuggah - The Violent Sleep Of Reason (Nuclear Blast)

Mikko Joensuu - Amen 1 (Svart Record)

One Sentence. Supervisor - Temporär Musik 1-13 (Oh, Sister Records)

Oscar - Cut And Paste (Wichita Recordings)

The Radio Dept. - Running Out of Love (Labrador)

Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool (XL Recordings)

Sara Renar – Tišina (Aquarius Records)

Škrtice - Škrtice (Lampshade Media)

Židr?ns - Židr?ns un tas, ko nevar nest (I Love You Records)

Helen Smith, executive chair, IMPALA, said: “The essence of this prize is to put the spotlight on the most exceptional album of the year. It’s a great shortlist again with both new faces and well-established independent artists. The jury will now decide which album they believe was the best in 2016”.

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...