Nominees announced for BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2018

Nominees announced for BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2018

The nominees have been announced for the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards.

This year’s ceremony, presented by Mark Radcliffe and Julie Fowlis, will take place at the Belfast Waterfront on Wednesday, April 4. Now in its 19th year, it will mark the first time the event has been held in Northern Ireland. 

Lewis Carnie, head of Radio 2 said: “We’re very excited that for the first time the Folk Awards are heading to Belfast this year, and as ever, we're looking forward to a varied and vibrant mix of artist performances, as well as the opportunity to celebrate many brilliant acts from the folk music scene.  

"From folk to jazz, soul to blues, specialist music is a key part of the Radio 2 schedule and we are proud to support both established and emerging folk musicians at this very special event in Belfast.”

The show will be produced by 7digital Creative and accolades will be awarded in the following categories: Folk Singer of the Year, Best Duo, Best Group, Best Album, Horizon Award, Musician of the Year, Best Original Track, Best Traditional Track and BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award. The show will also include the presentation of a Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be announced at a later date.

The evening will welcome an array of special guests and will see performances from Cara Dillon, Paul Brady, Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band and Lankum. Other acts will be confirmed at a later date.

Mark Radcliffe said: “I’m genuinely thrilled to be making my first ever visit to Belfast for the Folk Awards. I plan to spend a good few days absorbing the history and the culture and then what an honour it will be to take to the stage with home-grown legends Paul Brady and Cara Dillon - it promises to be a very special night.” 

The BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards will be simulcast live on Radio 2 and BBC Radio Ulster from 7pm to 9.30pm, and after the show selected highlights will be available to watch online.  

The full list of nominations is below: 

Folk Singer of the Year

Cara Dillon 

Julie Fowlis 

Karine Polwart 

Siobhan Miller


Best Duo

Chris Stout & Catriona McKay 


O’Hooley & Tidow 

Ross Ainslie & Ali Hutton


Best Group

Elephant Sessions 

Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band 


Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys


Best Album

Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band – Big Machine 

Karine Polwart with Pippa Murphy – A Pocket of Wind Resistance    

Lankum – Between the Earth and Sky 

The Young’uns – Strangers 

Horizon Award

Cohen Braithwaite-Kilcoyne 

Georgia Lewis 


Ryan Young


Musician of the Year

Martin Simpson 

Mohsen Amini 

Ross Ainslie 

Tim Edey


Best Original Track

Be The Man - The Young’uns

Cân y c?n - Gwyneth Glyn

The Granite Gaze – Lankum

The Great Saint Lawrence River - Declan O’Rourke


Best Traditional Track

Banks of Newfoundland - Siobhan Miller 

Lisa Lân - Alaw 

Lowlands of Holland - Ye Vagabonds

The Life of a Man / Greensleeves - Chris Foster


BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award

Jack Warnock 

Josiah & Ludwig 

Mera Royle 

The Drystones


For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...