The Music Week Playlist: July 31, 2019

KANO (FEAT D DOUBLE E & GHETTS)

This week’s hottest new sounds…

KANO (FEAT D DOUBLE E & GHETTS)
Class Of Deja (Parlophone)

Kano returns with a grimy, breakneck new banger. Released simultaneously, the more laid-back Trouble suggests new album Hoodies All Summer (August 30) will be a wide-ranging affair.

Contact Keong Woo
keong.woo@goodmachinepr.com

CHARLI XCX & CHRISTINE AND THE QUEENS
Gone (Asylum)

Collaborations don’t come much cooler than this glossy hunk of pop brilliance. Naturally, there’s a luxuriant video to match. Don’t miss it.

Contact Anna Meacham
anna@huxley.world

SAM SMITH
How Do You Sleep? (Capitol)

Sleep couldn’t be further from the equation here, as high-gliding vocals precede a clubby chorus. Coming soon to an alarm clock near you.

Contact Carl Fysh
carl.fysh@s-414.com

THE CHATS
Identity Theft (Bargain Bin Records)

The beery, bleary Aussie trio’s new single warns against the perils of buying drugs online, with crashing punk rock amping up the message. Wicked.

Contact James Sherry
james@divisionpromotions.com

DIIV
Skin Game (Captured Tracks)

Diiv return with a whirlpool of guitars, teaming crunch and noise with their signature balletic riffing. Third album Deceiver is out in October.

Contact Jodie Banaszkiewicz
jodie@staygoldenpr.com

KING PRINCESS
Prophet (Zelig Records)

Mikaela Straus has revealed that her debut album as King Princess, Cheap Queen, is coming in October. In the meantime, soak up this loose groove.

Contact Rob Chute
rob@toastpress.com

SQUID
The Cleaner (Speedy Wunderground)

The London post-punkers continue a white hot 2019 with this souped-up lead track from their upcoming Town Centre EP (September 6).

Contact Sinead Mills
sinead@practisemusic.co.uk

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...