Judging panel announced for the 2017 Hyundai Mercury Prize Awards

Judging panel announced for the 2017 Hyundai Mercury Prize Awards

The judging panel has been announced for the 2017 Hyundai Mercury Prize Awards.

New judges for 2017 include Lianne La Havas, Ella Eyre, Marcus Mumford and MistaJam, with the full line-up also including artists Jamie Cullum and Jessie Ware; Mojo and Q editor-in-chief Phil Alexander; broadcaster Clara Amfo; The Guardian’s Harriet Gibsone; Will Hodgkinson of The Times; 6 Music and Radio 2 head of music Jeff Smith and Radio X head of music Mike Walsh.

Music executive Tony Wadsworth CBE is the chair of the judging panel, with the 2017 Albums of the Year shortlist to be announced on July 27. The awards show will be held at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith, on September 14. Broadcast live on BBC Four and BBC Radio 6 Music, it will feature performances from many of the nominees.

"The judges spend several months listening to over 200 albums entered for this year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize and then meet to decide on the 12 Albums of the Year,” said Mercury Prize chairman David Wilkinson. “It’s been an exciting year for UK music – so it’s going to be tougher than ever for them choosing the 12 albums. After last year’s successful event we’re looking forward to an equally diverse and eclectic shortlist being announced on July 27."

The Prize’s digital music partner, Apple Music, will be promoting the Mercury Prize from the initial shortlist announcement through to the Awards Show in September. Apple Music will also help music fans discover new music with dedicated playlists featuring the shortlisted artists.

Albums by British and Irish artists with a UK release date between July 30, 2016 and July 21, 2017 are eligible for the 2017 Prize.

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...