The Music Week Playlist (June 19, 2019)

WHITNEY

This week's essential new sounds...

WHITNEY
Giving Up (Secretly Canadian)

Whitney do brittle emotion better than most, and their return with second LP Forever Turned Around is spearheaded by this brassy love song rooted in the classic songwriting they hold dear.

Contact Michelle Kambasha
michelle@secretlygroup.com

RÓISÍN MURPHY
Incapable (Skint Records)

Róisín Murphy punctuates a run of festival dates with this eight minute reflection on heartbreak. Inviting bass and a big fat groove off set any mushiness.

Contact Keong Woo
keong.woo@goodmachinepr.com

BTS & CHARLI XCX
Dream Glow (Big Hit Entertainment)

BTS invite Charli XCX into their world of mega pop and she daubs it with day-glo gloss, adding an extra dimension in the process.

Contact Ashley Townley
ashley.townley@dawbell.com

KEANE
The Way I Feel (Island)

“They say that you should move on/But you can’t even get your shoes on,” sings Tom Chaplin on a synthy new track that suggests maturing in pop is no joke.

Contact Barbara Charone
bc@mbcpr.com

DECLAN J DONOVAN
Vienna (Polydor)

Heavily-tipped Essex newcomer Declan J Donovan’s first Polydor release is a piano-fuelled single that showcases his emotional repertoire.

Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

SWIM DEEP
To Feel Good (Pop Committee)

Riding a sky-high synth line, Swim Deep go bleak and introspective on a gospel-tinged taster of new album Emerald Classics.

Contact Paddy Davis
paddy.davis@pias.com

CAMELPHAT X JAKE BUGG
Be Someone (Sony RCA)

Many of us thought we’d never hear Jake Bugg snarl over an insistent club track, but how wrong we were. The beats amp up his crooked croon.

Contact Olivia Warnford-Davis
olivia.warnford-davis@sonymusic.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...