Black Midi sign to Rough Trade, share Speedway EP

Black Midi sign to Rough Trade, share Speedway EP

Rough Trade has announced the signing of hotly-tipped South London quartet Black Midi, as the band share their new Speedway EP.

First featured in Music Week in January 2018, Black Midi’s line-up is comprised of Geordie Greep (vocals/guitar), Cameron Picton (bass/vocals), Matt Kelvin (guitar) and Morgan Simpson (drums). The band formed at BRIT School and share a management company with Shame.

Loud & Quiet magazine has described them as “the most progressive guitar band in London”. Black Midi are currently on their first UK headline tour and are set to play their first US dates in March. That tour will take in Los Angeles, SXSW, and New York.

Produced by Dan Carey, the Speedway EP features Black Midi’s original song alongside remixes by Proc Fiskal, Kwake Bass and Blanck Mass.

Watch a visual from from bassist Picton below.

Black Midi featured in Music Week’s new music issue earlier this month.

To subscribe and never miss a music biz story, click here.

Photo: Dan Kendall

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...