Guy Chambers partners with BMG to release debut solo album, Go Gentle Into The Light, in May

Guy Chambers partners with BMG to release debut solo album, Go Gentle Into The Light, in May

Guy Chambers – the legendary songwriter behind some of Robbie Williams’ biggest hits – has announced he will release his debut solo album, Go Gentle Into The Light, on May 3 via BMG. The album will feature a host of Chambers’ classic songs played as piano instrumentals by Chambers – the 55-year-old writer, producer and musical director recorded the album on his birthday last year, in a single session at Abbey Road Studios.

As part of the announcement, Chambers has unveiled lead single The Road To Mandalay.

Throughout his career, Chambers has produced seven No.1 albums, scored over a dozen hits and helped sell tens of millions of albums globally. Among Chambers’ most iconic tracks include Robbie Williams staples such as Angels (1,518,791 sales to date – Official Charts Company), Millennium (541,231) and Feel (446,527).

Speaking about the project, Chambers said: “I chose the music that I thought would lend itself to solo piano, they were not chosen as part of a greatest hits exercise. I learnt a lot about the songs.”

He continued: “I thought it would be nice for them to be heard in their pure melodic form. It was a little gift to myself.” 

In addition to Williams, Chambers has worked with a host of artists, including Kylie MinogueJames Blunt, Melanie C, Katie Melua, Caro Emerald, Rufus Wainwright, Katy B, Mark Ronson and John Newman.

In 2013, Williams and Chambers resumed writing together for Swings Both Ways, after parting ways in 2002. Chambers was musical director on 2015’s Let Me Entertain You tour and co-writer and producer for Williams’ 2016 pop comeback, The Heavy Entertainment Show.

According to an official press release, the pair are currently busy with multiple projects. In 2019, Chambers and Williams will write the score for a musical based on David Walliams’ The Boy In The Dress for the Royal Shakespeare Company, while Williams is also said to have an album in the works. Chambers has also written a folk opera of Oscar Wilde’s The Selfish Giant (which premiered at The Vaudeville Theatre in London) and is currently co-writing a musical with Lily Allen.

You can see the full Go Gentle Into The Light tracklisting below:

1. The Road To Mandalay

2. Heaven From Here

3. Go Gentle

4. Supreme

5. Grace

6. Better Man

7. No Regrets

8. Feel

9. Angels

10. Millennium

11. Eternity



For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...