Billie Eilish, Lizzo and Lil Nas X among first ever Apple Music Awards winners

Billie Eilish, Lizzo and Lil Nas X among first ever Apple Music Awards winners

Billie Eilish, Lizzo and Lil Nas X are today (December 3) among the winners of the inaugural Apple Music Awards.

An official press release stated: “The Apple Music Awards honor achievements in music across five distinct categories and winners are chosen through a process that reflects both the service’s editorial perspective, combined with what customers around the world are loving most.”

Billie Eilish received both the Artist Of The Year and Album Of The Year awards, as well as sharing the Songwriter Of The Year honour with her brother Finneas.

Elsewhere, Breakthrough Artist Of The Year went to Lizzo and Song Of The Year was awarded to Old Town Road by Lil Nas X.

The winners for Global Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year and Breakthrough Artist of the Year were hand-selected by Apple Music’s global editorial team of experts and tastemakers.

The awards for Album of the Year and Song of the Year were based on streaming data and reflective of what Apple Music customers have been listening to this year. 

Speaking about the awards, Oliver Schusser, vice president of Apple Music and International Content said: “The Apple Music Awards are designed to recognize the passion, energy and creativity of the world’s favorite artists. The musically diverse group of inaugural winners have sparked deep social conversation, influenced culture and inspired our customers around the world. We couldn’t be more excited to celebrate them.”

Apple Music will celebrate the inaugural Apple Music Awards with a bespoke performance from Billie Eilish at the Steve Jobs Theater at Apple Park. The exclusive event will be streamed live around the world on December 4 at 6:30 p.m. PST. 


For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...