George Michael, Kate Bush and Missy Elliott among 2023 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees

George Michael, Kate Bush and Missy Elliott among 2023 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation has unveiled its 2023 inductees.

The 38th edition of the ceremony will take place on November 3 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

In the performer category, the 2023 inductees are: 

• Kate Bush

• Sheryl Crow

• Missy Elliott

• George Michael

• Willie Nelson

• Rage Against the Machine

• The Spinners

The Hall Of Fame will also honour musical influence (DJ Kool Herc and Link Wray) and musical excellence (Chaka Khan, Al Kooper and Bernie Taupin). 

The announcement was streamed on Apple Music 1 with special guests Sheryl Crow and Bernie Taupin.

“This year’s incredible group of Inductees reflects the diverse artists and sounds that define rock & roll,” said John Sykes, chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “We are honoured that this November’s Induction Ceremony in New York will coincide with two milestones in music culture: the 90th birthday of Willie Nelson and the 50th Anniversary of the birth of hip-hop.”

To be eligible, artists are required to have released their first record 25 years prior to induction. Four of seven Inductees in the performer category were on the ballot for the first time, including Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliott, George Michael, and Willie Nelson. This was the first year of eligibility for Missy Elliott.

Don Cornelius, the late host and creator of US music TV show Soul Train, will be recognised with the Ahmet Ertegun Award.


author twitter FOLLOW Andre Paine

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...