UK Music Video Awards 2020 winners revealed

UK Music Video Awards 2020 winners revealed

The British-produced video for DJ Shadow ft De La Soul’s Rocket Fuel and Finnish-born director Anton Tammi were the biggest winners at the UK Music Video Awards 2020.

The Sam Pilling-directed video for DJ Shadow’s Rocket Fuel won Video Of The Year and three more awards.

Tammi, director of four interconnected music videos to accompany The Weeknd’s latest album After Hours, won the Best Director award, and also Best Pop Video International for Blinding Lights. 

The ceremony was presented by broadcaster and DJ Becca Dudley from a London studio via a virtual audience platform, which saw 500-plus music video professionals joining in the show from their homes or offices around the world.

On the first day of second lockdown in England, the UKMVAs handed a one-off Best Lockdown Video prize to directing team Stylewar’s video for DJ/producer Bronson’s Keep Moving.   

The Streets won the Best Music Film category for their livestream.

Other artists recognised at this year’s UKMVAs include Dua Lipa, Disclosure, Idles, FKA twigs, JME, Riz Ahmed and Greentea Peng, in an event that honoured work in music video across music genres, individual achievement and craft and technical prowess behind the camera.  

The Best Production Company award was won by London and LA-based Somesuch for videos for artists including The Weeknd, Michael Kiwanuka, Coldplay and Riz Ahmed. 

The full list of winners is below.


Best Pop Video – UK 

Dua Lipa – Break My Heart

Director: Henry Scholfield

Producer: Javier Alejandro 

Prod co: Caviar

Commissioner: Caroline Clayton for Warner Records/Tap Mgmt


Best Dance/Electronic Video – UK 

Disclosure ft Aminé & Slowthai – My High

Director: Simon Cahn

Exec producers: Clémence Cuvelier, Jules de Chateleux; 

Producers: Théo Gall, Laure Salgon

Prod co: Division

Commissioner: Kevin Kloecker for Island Records


Best R&B/Soul Video – UK

Berwyn – Trap Phone

Director: Brock Neal-Roberts

Producer: India Bradshaw 

Prod co: Agile Films

Commissioner: Dan Millar for Sony Music Entertainment UK


Best Rock Video – UK 

Idles – War

Director: Will Dohrn

Producer: Mel Giles

Prod co: Ground Work

Commissioner: Theresa Adebiyi for Partisan Records


Best Alternative Video – UK 

Lapsley – My Love Was Like The Rain

Director: Camille Summers-Valli

Producer: Scarlett Barclay

Prod co: Ground Work

Commissioner: Scott Wright for XL Recordings


Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video – UK

JME ft Merky Ace – Live

Director: Matthew Walker

Producer: Matthew Walker

Prod co: MKW Films

Commissioner: Jamie Adenuga for Boy Better Know


Best Pop Video – International 

The Weeknd – Blinding Lights

Director: Anton Tammi 

Producer: Sarah Park 

Prod co: Somesuch

Commissioner: La Mar C Taylor for Republic Records


Best Dance/Electronic Video – International 

Salvatore Ganacci – Boycycle

Director: Vedran Rupic

Producers: Christian Kuosmanen, Sia Masoodian

Prod co: Business Club Royale

Commissioner: Blake Foster for OWSLA


Best R&B/Soul Video – International 

Yseult – Corps

Director: Colin Solal Cardo

Producers: Christophe 'Chryde’ Abric, Adrien Chibatte

Prod co: La Blogothèque, Y.Y.Y

Commissioner: artist commissioned for Believe


Best Rock Video – International

Joywave – Obsession

Directors: Dimitri Basil, Laura Gorun, Cooper Roussel,

Producer: Laura Gorun

Prod co: Mad Meridian 76 NW

Commissioner: Craig Cox for Hollywood Records


Best Alternative Video – International 

Agoria – Call Of The Wild

Director: Loic Andrieu

Producer: Pierre Cazenave-Kaufman

Prod co: Soldats 

Commissioner: Christian de Rosnay for Sapiens


Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video – International 

DJ Shadow ft De La Soul – Rocket Fuel

Director: Sam Pilling

Producer: Emma Wellbelove

Prod co: Pulse Films, Radioaktive Film

Commissioner: Caroline Clayton for Mass Appeal Records


Best Pop Video – Newcomer 

Vagabon – In A Bind

Director: Maegan Houang

Producers: Benjamin Kang, John Lozada

Prod co: Antidote Films

Commissioner: artist commissioned for Nonesuch


Best Dance/Electronic Video – Newcomer 

Mild Minds ft Boats – Walls

Director: Colin Read

Producer: Francesco Rizzo

Prod co: Pulse Films

Commissioner: Emmanuelle George for Foreign Family Collective


Best R&B/Soul Video – Newcomer 

Greentea Peng – Mr Sun (miss da sun)

Director: Felix Brady

Producer: Nellie Heron-Anstead

Prod co: Stink Films

Record co: Earbuds


Best Rock Video – Newcomer 

Willie J Healey – True Stereo

Director: Joe Wheatley

Producer: Luke Fraser

Prod co: Joe Wheatley

Commissioner: Emma Greengrass for Yala! Records


Best Alternative Video – Newcomer

Zebra Katz – Moor

Directors: Žanete Skarule & Ojay Morgan

Producer: Normunds Rumba

Prod co: Common People Films /

Commissioner: Zebra Katz for Mad Decent


Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video – Newcomer

Jurdan Bryant – Words For Thomas

Director: Alonzo Hellerbach

Producer: Chris Toumazou



Best Production Design in a Video

Tommy Cash – Sdubid

Production designer: Taivi Lippmaa

Directors: Tommy Cash & Anna Himma

Prod co: Iconoclast


Best Styling in a Video

Beyoncé, Shatta Wale, Major Lazer – Already

Stylist: Zerina Akers

Directors: Beyoncé, Pierre Debusschere, Kwasi Fordjour

Prod co: Parkwood Entertainment

Record co: Parkwood Entertainment, Sony Music, Columbia Records


Best Choreography in a Video

Sheenah Ko – Wrap Me Up

Choreographer: Brittney Canda 

Choreographic assistant: Susannah Haight

Directors: Vincent René-Lortie & Brittney Canda

Prod co: Telescope Films


Best Cinematography in a Video

FKA Twigs – Sad Day

DoP: Larkin Seiple

Director: Hiro Murai

Prod co: Doomsday Entertainment (US), FRIEND (UK)

Record co: Young Turks


Best Colour Grading in a Video in association with CHEAT

DJ Shadow ft De La Soul – Rocket Fuel

Colourist: Thomas Mangham at The Mill

Director: Sam Pilling

Prod co: Pulse Films, Radioaktive Film

Record co: Mass Appeal Records


Best Editing in a Video

DJ Shadow ft De La Soul – Rocket Fuel

Editor: Ellie Johnson at tenthree

Director: Sam Pilling

Prod co: Pulse Films, Radioaktive Film

Record co: Mass Appeal Records


Best Visual Effects in a Video

Flatbush Zombies – Afterlife

VFX artist: Machine Molle

Director: Arnaud Bresson


Record co: Glorious Dead Records

Best Animation in a Video

Ghetts ft Jaykae & Moonchild Sanelly – Mozambique

Animator: Ruff Mercy 

Director: Ruff Mercy

Prod co: My Accomplice

Record co: Warner Records


Best Live Video 

The Weeknd – Heartless (Live) 

Director: Alex Lill

Producers: Brendan Garrett, Jeff Kopchia

Prod co: Somesuch

Record co: Republic Records


Best Lockdown Video

Bronson – Keep Moving

Director: StyleWar

Producer: Elizabeth Doonan

Prod co: Smuggler

Record co: Ninja Tune


Best Special Video Project

Riz Ahmed – The Long Goodbye

Director: Aneil Karia

Producer: Tom Gardner

Prod co: Somesuch

Record co: Mongrel Records (via Warp) 


Best Music Film

The Streets – None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Live Alive (Livestream)

Director: James Barnes

Producer: Jim Parsons

Prod co: Globe Productions

Commissioner: Amy Collins for Island Records 


Best Director

Anton Tammi


Best New Director in association with LEAP

Arnaud Bresson


Best Producer in association with WPA

Daniella Manca


Best Commissioner

Caroline Clayton


Best Agent

Claire Stubbs


Best Production Company



Best Post Production Company

The Mill


Video of the Year

DJ Shadow ft De La Soul – Rocket Fuel

Director: Sam Pilling

Producer: Emma Wellbelove

Prod co: Pulse Films, Radioaktive Film

Commissioner: Caroline Clayton for Mass Appeal Records

author twitter FOLLOW Andre Paine

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...