The 1975, Dave and Idles among Mercury Prize nominees

The 1975, Dave and Idles among Mercury Prize nominees

The 1975, Dave, Foals, Idles, Slowthai and Anna Calvi are among the 12 artists to have secured a place on this year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize shortlist.

The nominees were revealed at a live launch this morning hosted by BBC Music’s Huw Stephens.

The 2019 awards show will take place on Thursday, September 19 at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith. The event will feature live performances by many of the shortlisted artists.

You can see the full list below:

Anna Calvi - Hunter (Domino)

Black Midi - Schlagenheim (Rough Trade)

Cate Le Bon - Reward (Mexican Summer)

Dave - Psychodrama (Dave Neighbourhood)

Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Pt 1 (Warner Records)

Fontaines DC - Dogrel (Partisan) 

Idles - Joy As An Act Of Resistance (Partisan)

Little Simz - Grey Area (Age 101/AWAL)

Nao - Saturn (RCA)

Seed Ensemble - Driftglass (Jazz Refreshed)

Slowthai - Nothing Great About Britain (Method)

The 1975 - A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships (Dirty Hit/Polydor)

Rock acts account for more than half of the list (Anna Calvi/Black Midi/Cate Le Bon/Foals/Fontaines DC/Idles/The 1975). Of the 12 nominated acts, just two – Foals and Nao – are outright signed to major labels, although The 1975 is a JV between Dirty Hit and Polydor, and Universal Music Group has a stake in both the Dave and Slowthai albums.

Partisan has two records in the running – Fontaines DC's Dogrel and Foals' Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost - Pt 1. 

Albums by British and Irish artists with a UK release date between July 21, 2018 and July 19, 2019 are eligible for the 2019 Prize.

The judges are: Annie Mac, Clara Amfo, Danielle Perry (broadcaster & writer), Gaz Coombes, Jamie Cullum, Jeff Smith (head of music, 6 Music & Radio 2), Jorja Smith, Mike Walsh (head of music, Radio X), Phil Alexander (creative director, Kerrang!/contributing editor, Mojo), Stormzy, Tshepo Mokoena (editorial director,, Will Hodgkinson (chief rock & pop critic, The Times). The chair of the judging panel is Jeff Smith.

Wolf Alice won the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Music Prize with their second album Visions Of A Life (78,483 sales, OCC).

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...