Noel Gallagher receives BMI President's Award

Noel Gallagher receives BMI President's Award

Noel Gallagher was honoured with the BMI President’s Award at last night's 2019 BMI London Awards.

The former Oasis man received the prestigious award in recognition of his influence on songwriting within the music industry, following in the footsteps of previous recipients including Jay Kay, Kenny Chesney, Pink, Willie Nelson, Adam Levine, and Gloria & Emilio Estefano.

The music itself is the real award

Noel Gallagher

Current Music Week cover star Gallagher, who was presented with the award by BMI president and CEO Mike O’Neill, said: “The awards are great and all that, thank you… The music itself is the real award.”

Other guests included Raye, who also performed her brand new track, Love Me Again, and who was recognised with the BMI Impact Award, a brand new award for 2019. Anne-Marie and Niall Horan also attended the awards at London’s Savoy Hotel for an evening of celebration of the UK and European songwriters, producers and publishers of the most-performed songs of 2019.

BMI also honoured Camila Cabello with the Song Of The Year award for her platinum-selling UK single Never Be The Same, written with Noonie Bao (STIM), Adam ‘Frank Dukes’ Feeney (SOCAN), Sasha Sloan and published by Maidmetal Ltd and Sony/ATV Music Publishing. 

The award is given to the most performed song of the previous year by UK or European writers in the BMI catalogue. Cabello succeeds Ed Sheeran, who previously won the accolade three times - in 2016, 2017, and last year in 2018, with Johnny McDaid for Shape Of You. 

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...