GRM Daily unveils plans for Rated Awards 2021

GRM Daily unveils plans for Rated Awards 2021

GRM Daily has announced the shortlists for its Rated Awards, which are due to return on September 16 as a virtual event in partnership with YouTube Music 

Stormzy, AJ Tracey, Pa Salieu, Headie One, Slowthai, Enny, Shaybo, Central Cee and more feature among the nominees for this year’s edition of the event. AJ Tracey, Pa Salieu and Headie One lead the nominations with four each. Voting is open until August 17, with fans encouraged to vote via GRM Daily’s website. 

GRM Daily founder Koby ‘Posty’ Hagan said: “Excited to be back celebrating the best in UK rap & grime music. It’s been an incredible year in music, congratulations to all of this year’s nominees.”

Last year saw a successful virtual edition of the event, with J His (pictured) among the winners. The sixth outing of the Rated Awards will be broadcast live via GRM Daily’s YouTube channel from 7pm on September 16.

The full list of nominees is below.

Album of the Year

AJ Tracey – Flu Game

Bugzy Malone – The Resurrection

D Block Europe – The Blueprint- Us Vs. Them

Fredo – Money Can’t Buy Happiness

Ghetts – Conflict of Interest

Headie One – EDNA

K Trap – Street Side Effects

Loski – Music, Trial and Trauma: A Drill Story

Nines – Crabs In A Bucket

Slowthai - TYRON

Female Artist of the Year

Sponsored by +44 from Amazon Music 

Bree Runway 



Ivorian Doll

Jorja Smith

Lady Leshurr

Ms Banks


Stefflon Don

Midas The Jagaban


Male Artist of the Year

Sponsored by A Jewellers

AJ Tracey

Abra Cadabra

Central Cee 


Digga D



Headie One

Potter Payper

Tion Wayne


Breakthrough of the Year 

Supported by BBC Radio 1Xtra


BackRoad Gee


Central Cee

French The Kid




Pa Salieu



Personality of the Year

Big Zuu


Harry Pinero

Nella Rose

Michael Dapaah

Mo Gilligan

Munya Chawawa

Niko Omilana

Yung Filly

ZeZe Millz


Track of the Year

A1 & J1 – Latest Trends

Abra Cadabra – On Deck

Central Cee – Loading

Digga D – Woi

ENNY – Peng Black Girls (ft Amia Brave)

Headie One, Stormzy and AJ Tracey – Ain’t It Different

Nines – Airplane Mode (ft NSG)

Pa Salieu – My Family (ft BackRoad Gee)

Potter Payper – Purpose

Russ & Tion Wayne – Body


Video of the Year

Aitch – Safe To Say (Directed by KC Locke)

AJ Tracey – Little More Love (Directed by KC Locke)

Ghetts – Skengman Mode (ft. Stormzy) (Directed by Nathan James Tettey)

Headie One – Princess Cuts (ft. Young T & Bugsey) (Directed by Capone)

Little Simz -  Introvert (Directed by Salomon Ligthelm)

 Meekz – Respect The Come Up (Directed by KC Locke)

Nines – Clout (Directed by Charlie Di Placido)

Pa Salieu – My Family (ft. BackRoad Gee) (Directed by Femi Ladi)

Russ & Tion Wayne – Body (Directed by Wowa) 

slowthai, Skepta – Cancelled (Directed by THE REST) 

Mixtape of the Year  

In Association with Porte Noire

Abra Cadabra – Product of My Environment

Central Cee – Wild West

Chip – Snakes and Ladders

Digga D – Made In The Pyrex

Giggs – Now Or Never

M Huncho & Nafe Smallz – DNA

NSG – Roots

Pa Salieu - Send Them To Coventry

Potter Payper – Training Day 3

Unknown T – Rise Above Hate

Radio DJ of the Year

Charlie Sloth

DJ Target


Henrie Kwushue

Kenny Allstar

Robert Bruce

Reece Parkinson

Snoochie Shy

Tiffany Calver

Yinka & Shayna Marie

Producer of the Year


5ive Beatz

Chris Rich








PHOTO: Theo Williams

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...