New Public-Voted Heavy Music Awards Announced

New Public-Voted Heavy Music Awards Announced


A new public-voted awards event conceived to celebrate rock and metal, christened the Heavy Music Awards, has been launched today (March 1). Established by the Heavy Group – a separate venture formed by co-organisers Dave Bradley (Promoter at Live Nation) and Andy Pritchard - the event will see a shortlist picked by a sizeable panel of industry-based judges go up for public vote on May 22. The awards will span 11 categories, including Best Album, Best UK Band, Best International Band and Best Festival, with the winners set to be announced at a ceremony in London on Thursday August 24.

The Heavy Group’s Andy Pritchard has hailed the Heavy Music Awards as “a significant endorsement of the strength of the heavy music scene in 2017. Curated by a collective of music industry professionals - all of them without exception fans of music first and foremost - the Heavy Music Awards will provide an entirely independent vehicle to democratically crown the best of the year in heavy music. The panel of respected and knowledgeable individuals from across the industry - including managers, labels, promoters, booking agents, publicists, podcasters and more - make their picks for the year, then the public vote to decide the overall winners.”

The first wave of confirmed judges features several of the most influential figures from across the heavy music landscape, including Andy Copping (Live Nation / Download Festival), Paul Ryan (UTA), Tom Taaffe (UTA), Julie Weir (Music For Nations) and Danny Corr (Roadrunner Records), with more to be announced in the coming weeks.

“The heavy music community has proven over the years that it has one of the most loyal and supportive fan bases,” said Live Nation/Download Festival’s Andy Copping. “To see an awards that hands the voting power back to the fans is only a good thing in my books.”

Danny Corr, Senior Marketing Manager at Roadrunner Records added: “With the industry unsure about where its future lies, heavy music is still incredibly strong both in terms of recorded form and live. From huge artists returning with massive success to a brilliant slew of new music and breaking acts we are a scene in particularly good health. It’s great to have a new set of awards celebrating all the parts of our genre and its achievements.”

Details about the panel and awards can be seen below, for more information head to the Heavy Music Awards' official site.
THE JUDGING PANEL (as of March 1 2017)

Justin Arcangel (5B Artist Management)
Terry Bezer (That’s Not Metal)
Satvir Bhamra (Warner Music UK)
Dante Bonutto (Spinefarm Records)
Sharon Richardson (Factory Music Management & Agency)
Andy Copping (Live Nation / Download Festival)
Danny Corr (Roadrunner Records)
Ian Dickinson (Roadrunner Records)
Adam Foster (5B Artist Management)
George Garner (Music Week)
Adam Gregory (Bloodstock Festival)
Mike Herbrik (Warner Music Norway)
Stephen Hill (That’s Not Metal)
Vicky Hungerford (Bloodstock Festival)
Warul Islam (Communion)
Sophie K (Freelance)
Michelle Kerr (Cosa Nostra PR)
Abbie Marshall (Ramblin’ Man Fair)
Mark Palmer (Nuclear Blast Records)
Paul Ryan (UTA)
Andy Saiker (The Firepit / Warner Music UK)
Kirsten Sprinks (Cosa Nostra PR)
Tom Taaffe (UTA)
Oli Walkers (AC Promotions)
Julie Weir (Music For Nations) more judges across the wider ‘Heavy Music Industry’ will be announced soon.


Best Album
Best UK Band
Best International Band
Best Live Band
Best Breakthrough Band
Best Festival
Best Venue
Best Album Artwork
Best Producer
Best Photographer
The H (Community Award)
Heavy Music Hall of Fame

For more information about the Heavy Music Awards contact Iain on 01277 356200 or


For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...